Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 18, 2025

The Honorable Douglas Collins Secretary U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 810 Vermont Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20420

Dear Mr. Secretary:

We write today to express our profound alarm and vehement opposition to the recent removal of certain nondiscrimination provisions from the medical staff bylaws at Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) medical facilities, as was first was reported by *The Guardian* on June 16, 2025. Specifically, VA medical facilities were directed to strip key provisions from their medical staff bylaws that prohibited providers from refusing veterans treatment on the basis of their marital status and political affiliation. Facilities were similarly directed to remove marital status, political affiliation, disability, and membership in a labor organization from the provisions of medical staff bylaws that bar discrimination in the appointment of medical staff.

These revisions are deeply disturbing, antithetical to VA's mission, and will seriously threaten the delivery of the safe, high-quality medical care that veterans have earned and deserve. Based on these revisions to medical staff bylaws, VA providers will now be able to refuse treatment to veterans whose political views they disagree with—including Democrats, Republicans, and members of any other political organization. They also will be able to deny treatment based on whether the veteran is married, whether they are part of a same-sex couple, or whether they are unmarried or widowed. These revisions will seriously undermine the ethical delivery of medical care at VA. It is imperative that VA treat veteran patients impartially and without bias.

It is our understanding that these revisions were directed by VA central office, despite The Joint Commission's accreditation standard MS.01.01.01, which requires organized medical staff have the right to self-governance, including amending medical staff bylaws through a voting process. We are concerned that the Department's unilateral directive to amend medical staff bylaws could jeopardize VA medical facilities' accreditation status. Last week, the American Medical Association adopted a resolution at its annual convention that urges VA to, "restore compliance with Joint Commission Standard MS.01.01.01 by requiring medical staff approval for any modifications to their bylaws."

¹Aaron Glantz, 'Extremely Disturbing and Unethical': New Rules Allow VA Doctors to Refuse to Treat Democrats, Unmarried Veterans, The Guardian (June 16, 2025).

The Department's recent revisions to VA's medical staff bylaws are politicizing the delivery of care within the nation's largest integrated healthcare system, which serves more than 9 million enrolled veterans. Allowing clinicians to ask about political activity, denying care to certain categories of veterans based on marital status, and directing hiring based on ideology not only erodes the public's trust in VA but risks creating dangerous precedents in healthcare delivery, which could spread to other federal healthcare programs.

In light of these concerns, we demand that you immediately reverse these amendments to VA's medical staff bylaws and:

- restore provisions prohibiting VA providers from denying veterans' care on the basis of marital status and political affiliation;
- restore provisions that govern the appointment of medical staff members without discrimination on the basis of marital status, political ideology, and disability; and
- publicly affirm VA's commitment to guaranteeing every enrolled veteran receives timely, high-quality healthcare, regardless of their marital status and political beliefs.

We request a written response to this letter no later than June 27, 2025, detailing the actions you have taken to restore the nondiscrimination provisions of VA's medical staff bylaws.

Sincerely,

Mark Takano Ranking Member House Committee on

Mark Jahan

Veterans' Affairs

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Ranking Member

House Veterans' Affairs Subcommittee on Health

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick

Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Timothy M. Kennedy
Member of Congress

Herbert C. Conaway, Jr., Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

110.Clk

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Sarah Elfreth
Member of Congress

torament:

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress Joe Courtney
Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Maggie Goodlander
Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Rick Larsen
Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur
Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress

Sam J. Liccardo Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Emily Randall

Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D.

Member of Congress

Brad Sherman

Member of Congress

Greg Stanton

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon

Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Sunas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran

Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar

Member of Congress

V Tokuda

Member of Congress

N Tokula

Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bolie Water Colema